Menu

Auto-Touren – Östlich von Inverness Heritage Trail

In Schottland gibt es mehrere große historische Sehenswürdigkeiten, und viele davon befinden sich in einem kleinen Gebiet östlich von Inverness. Wenn Sie also eine Roadtrip planen, wird Sie diese historische Hochlandtour von Inverness auf eine wirklich erstaunliche Reise mitnehmen. Sie besuchen historische Sehenswürdigkeiten und interessanteTouristenattraktionen, während Sie durch die atemberaubend schöne Landschaft der schottischen Highlands fahren.

Historische Hochlandtour von Inverness aus

Sie können diese Autotour an einem Tag absolvieren, beginnend und endend in Inverness. Die Route ist
ungefähr 32 Meilen lang.

Das Schlachtfeld von Culloden

Von Inverness aus nehmen Sie die B9006 in Richtung Culloden und Cawdor für 6 Meilen, um zum Culloden Battlefield zu gelangen. Hier fand am 16. April 1746 die Schlacht von Culloden statt. Die Jakobiter, angeführt von Bonnie Prince Charlie, kämpften mit der Hannoveraner Armee unter der Führung des Herzogs von Cumberland um den Thron. Während des stundenlangen Kampfes starben fast 2000 Männer, hauptsächlich Jakobiten. Durch die Nachwirkungen und Folgen der Schlacht von Culloden veränderten sich die Highlands für immer. Es war die letzte Schlacht auf britischem Boden. Und für viele Menschen ist es immer noch ein sehr emotionales Thema.

Das Besucherzentrum bietet hier ein äußerst innovatives und interaktives Erlebnis, einschließlich eines „immersiven Theaters“. Es hat auch einen Geschenkeladen, ein großes Restaurant und ein Café.

Culloden Schlachtfeld nach Clava Cairns

Weniger als 2 Meilen entlang der Straße ist eine Attraktion der ganz besonderen Art, Clava Cairns. Clava Cairns ist eine der beeindruckendsten prähistorischen Stätten Schottlands und die außergewöhnlichen Überreste einer alten Grabstätte. Vor über 4000 Jahren erbaut, sind zwei Teile des Komplexes das ganze Jahr über für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich, Balnuaran of Clava und Milton of Clava. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf dem Gelände keine Toiletten und begrenzte Parkplätze vorhanden sind.

Clava Cairns nach Nairn Viaduct

Direkt gegenüber der Clava Cairns liegt der Nairn Viadukt (auch Culloden oder Clava Viadukt genannt). Obwohl man nicht ganz nah an den Viadukt herankommen kann, gibt es eine sehr schöne Sicht darauf von der Strasse aus. Der Viadukt führt über den River Nairn und wurde im Jahr 1898 von The highland Railway eröffnet, Teil der Eisenbahnstrecke von Inverness nach Aviemore. Der Viadukt wird heute noch benutzt und ist der längste Viadukt dieser Art in Schottland, mit einer Länge von 549 Metern und 28 Bögen.

Nairn-Viadukt zur Burg Cawdor

Kehren Sie auf die B9006 zurück und fahren Sie nur 9 Meilen in westliche Richtung, bevor Sie Cawdor Castle im Dorf Cawdor erreichen. Noch heute ist die über 600 Jahre alte Burg im Besitz der Familie Cawdor. Nur von April bis Oktober geöffnet, ist es eines der schönsten Schlösser in Schottland mit wunderschönen Gärten, einschließlich des ummauerten Gartens, der um 1600 entstand. Cawdor Castle ist auch für immer mit Shakespeare’s Macbeth verbunden, und jedes Jahr im Sommer findet eine Aufführung des Stücks auf dem Schlossgelände statt. Es gibt auch eine Cafeteria und einen Geschenkeladen.

Cawdor Castle B2B Venue

Cawdor Castle nach Fort George

Der fünfte und letzte Halt auf diesem Tagesausflug von Inverness aus ist das spektakuläre Fort George und das Highlanders Museum, 8 Meilen von Cawdor entfernt. Fort George liegt eine Meile hinter dem Dorf Ardersier. Die Festung wurde nach der Schlacht von Culloden erbaut und der Bau
dauerte 22 Jahre und war damals die größte militärische Garnison in Europa. Obwohl es bis heute eine Militärkaserne ist, wurde es nie im Kampf eingesetzt. Um sich ein Bild von der Grösse des Geländes zu machen, sollten Sie einen Spaziergang um die Festungsmauern machen.

Vielleicht haben Sie auch das Glück, Delfine am Moray Firth zu sehen, da es schätzungsweise 200 ansässige Delfine gibt. Die Delfine sind regelmäßige Besucher des Moray Firth zwischen Chanonry Point und Fort George.

Bottlenose Dolphin Spotting

Auf dem Gelände von Fort George befindet sich auch das Highlanders Museum. Dieses Museum erstreckt sich über drei Etagen des ehemaligen Lieutenant Governors House in Fort George. Es hat ungefähr 20.000 Artefakte und geschätzte 10.000 Dokumente und Fotografien. Und es ist das größte Regimentsmuseum in Schottland außerhalb von Edinburgh.

Fort George nach Inverness

Von Fort George sind es sieben Meilen zurück nach Inverness. Und Ihre historische Highland-Tour von Inverness ist abgeschlossen.

Erkunden Sie die Highlands weiter

Teilen Sie Ihre Road Trip Fotos aus dem Osten

Plan Your Trip

Find accommodation, tours, attractions, events and restaurants to help you plan your trip

Menu

Car Tours – East of Inverness Heritage Trail

There are several great historical places to go in Scotland, and many are concentrated in a small area just east of Inverness. So, if you’re planning a road trip, this historical highland tour from Inverness will take you on a truly amazing journey. You’ll visit important heritage sites and major tourist attractions, whilst driving through the breathtakingly beautiful scenery of the Scottish Highlands.

Historical Highland Tour from Inverness

You can complete this car tour in one day, starting and finishing in Inverness. The route is
approximately 32 miles long.

Inverness to Culloden Battlefield

From Inverness, take the B9006 towards Culloden and Cawdor for 6 miles, to arrive at Culloden Battlefield. It was here on April the 16th 1746, that the Battle of Culloden took place. The Jacobites, led by Bonnie Prince Charlie, challenged the Hanoverian army, led by the Duke of Cumberland, for the throne. During the hour-long battle, almost 2000 men died, mostly Jacobites. Due to the aftermath and consequences of the Battle of Culloden, the Highlands changed forever. It was the last battle fought on British soil. And for many people, it’s still a very emotive subject.

The visitor centre here offers a highly innovative and interactive experience, including an ‘immersive theatre’. It also has a gift shop, a large restaurant and cafe area.

Culloden Battlefield to Clava Cairns

Less than 2 miles along the road is an attraction of a very different kind, Clava Cairns. One of Scotland’s most evocative pre-historic sites, Clava Cairns is the exceptional remains of an ancient cemetery. Built over 4000 years ago to house the dead, two parts of the complex are open all year round to the public, Balnuaran of Clava and Milton of Clava. Please note, there are no facilities at the site and limited parking.

Clava Cairns to Nairn Viaduct

Within short walking distance from Clava Cairns is the Nairn Viaduct. Also known as the Culloden or Clava Viaduct. Although it is not possible to get up close to it, good views of it are plentiful from the road. The Nairn (or Clava) viaduct spans the River Nairn. It was opened in 1898 by The Highland Railway as part of the Inverness and Aviemore Direct Railway. It still carries the main railway line south from Inverness today. This double-track the viaduct is the longest masonry railway viaduct in Scotland. It was built between 1893 and 1898 by Sir John Fowler and Murdoch Paterson. And it curves across the valley for 549 metres. It’s the longest viaduct of its kind in Scotland, with 28 spans.

Nairn Viaduct to Cawdor Castle

Return back on to the B9006 and head west for a mere 9 miles before you arrive at Cawdor Castle in the village of Cawdor. Still, home to the Cawdor family, this castle has evolved over 600 years. Open April to October only, it’s one of Scotland’s finest. With beautiful gardens, including the Walled Garden, which dates from around 1600. Cawdor Castle is also forever associated with Shakespeare’s Macbeth, and every year in summer an outdoor performance of the play takes place in the grounds of the castle. There’s also a cafeteria and gift shop.

Cawdor Castle B2B Venue

Cawdor Castle to Fort George

The fifth and final stop on this day trip from Inverness, is the spectacular Fort George and the Highlanders Museum, 8 miles from Cawdor. Fort George is a mile past the village of Ardersier. Built in the aftermath of the Battle of Culloden, it
took 22 years to complete and at the time was the largest military garrison in Europe. Although it remains to this day a military barracks, it has never been used in battle. To appreciate the size and engineering of the site, make sure to take a walk around the ramparts.

You may also be lucky enough to see dolphins on the Moray Firth. As there are an estimated 200 resident dolphins, who regularly entertain visitors across the Firth at Chanonry Point.

Bottlenose Dolphin Spotting

Also within the grounds of Fort George is the Highlanders Museum. This Museum covers three floors of Fort George’s former Lieutenant Governors’ House. It has roughly 20,000 artefacts and an estimated 10,000 documents and photographs. And it’s the largest regimental museum in Scotland, outside of Edinburgh.

If you’re visiting in September, don’t forget, the Highland Military Tattoo is staged in the grounds of Fort George. This event showcases the best of Highland military and cultural traditions.

Fort George to Inverness

From Fort George, it is seven miles back into Inverness. And your historical Highland tour from Inverness is complete.

Explore The Highlands Further

x

Share Your East Heritage Road Trip Photos

Plan Your Trip

Find accommodation, tours, attractions, events and restaurants to help you plan your trip